A word or two about the title

Although my mother tongue is Afrikaans and I enjoy speaking, thinking, and dreaming in the language of the toss-salad that is my South African heritage, I am also an interpreter.  I am basically paid to operate in both Afrikaans and English simultaneously every day.

I’ve always preferred reading and writing in English (inspired by my crush on Shakespeare at the age of 11, most probably).  This made it too difficult to choose one language over the other, so I chose not to.  I’ll use both (purists, beware!).  😉

That’s the bilingualist part.  The second is inspired by a combination of two words.

The first is “bemused“, as in “To cause to have feelings of wry or tolerant amusement” (not the dazed and confused alternative meaning).  If you’ve known me for more than a day (or an hour, if I’m feeling chatty), you might have noticed that I am sometimes on the sarcastic side.  I often have to remind myself not to share some of my drier thoughts out loud, but what’s the point of a blog if I can’t do it here?  Sarcasm ahead, friends!  Consider yourself warned🙂

The second, “muse“, implies that ephemeral entity who visits us all, usually at the most inopportune of times, to inspire us to create pieces of art, in whatever medium they might present themselves.

May she visit often.

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/bemuse

Leave a reply to this post

