Captain’s log, 23/07/12. It’s been three days since my last fix.

It starts with an itching in my right index finger. I move my mouse cursor over to the favourites bar on my laptop, to the dark blue square with the alluring white F in the corner. My finger freezes there, ready to click, when my brain kicks into overdrive to fight the urge. Very deliberately, I breathe, focus on the icon for my e-mail server, and click there instead, to see if I’m up to date with everything I actually have to be aware of (as opposed to the intoxicating appeal of every single thought or detail of every single one of my hundreds of contacts).

I throw myself back into working/thinking/breathing/eating/queue-standing/working/talking… all the moments I filled with getting my fix… until it hits again.

Maybe tomorrow I’ll forget about this habit of mine for longer than I could today? I guess every small victory helps!🙂

Let’s see if I can get though this week without facebook without feeling like an absolute junkie…

2 thoughts on “Captain’s log, 23/07/12. It’s been three days since my last fix.

Leave a reply to this post

